In stock

Categories: , Tags: ,


Welfare Pension Hall, Tokyo January 1970 concert flyer

Large original double-sided first printing concert flyer advertising American composer, pianist and big band leader Duke Ellington’s two performances at the Welfare Pension Hall in Tokyo [Japan] on Saturday, 10th January, 1970, the first stop on an extensive tour of the Far East. Ellington’s orchestra for the tour included Cat Anderson, Cootie Williams, Mercer Ellington, Lloyd Michaels (trumpets); Lawrence Brown, Chuck Gonners, Julian Priester (trombones); Johnny Hodges, Harry Carney, Russell Procope, Harold Ashby, Norris Turney (saxophones); Rufus Jones (drums); Joe Benjamin (bass); Wild Bill Davis (piano) and Tony Watkins (vocals). Joe Benjamin didn’t arrive in Japan until 14th January and local bassist Yasuo Arakawa filled in.

The flyer measures 21.1 x 30.3 cm (approx. 8.3″ by 11.9″ inches) and is beautifully printed on thin, dull-coated paper stock. Folded horizontally at the middle with a touch of light surface handling wear, else in remarkably near excellent condition. Feel free to email us with any questions you may have concerning this item. Additional images of the flyer available on request.



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ELLINGTON, Duke.”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *