BASIE, Count.


In stock

Categories: , Tags: ,


April 1954 French concert tour program 

Original vintage concert program produced for Count Basie’s April 1954 French tour, presented by Jazz Diffusion. The French concerts were part of Basie’s first trip to Europe, visiting Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Germany, Netherlands, Belgium, France, and Switzerland, but missing out the United Kingdom due to the lingering dispute between the musicians’ unions of the two countries. The orchestra for the tour featured Reunald Jones, Joe Newman, Joe Wilder, Wendell Culley (trumpets); Benny Powell, Henry Coker, Bill Hughes (trombones); Marshal Royal, Ernie Wilkins, Frank Wess, Frank Foster, Charlie Fowlkes (saxophones;), Freddie Greene (guitar); Eddie Jones (bass), Gus Johnson (drums); and Bixie Crawford (vocals). Count Basie and his men were received in Europe with great enthusiasm by fans who had been waiting for almost two decades to hear a band they only knew from records.

In original green and black pictorial matte-coated wrappers, staple bound, 21.0 x 27.0 cm, 16 pp. Program notes in French by Frank Tenot. Wrappers are slightly rubbed with light wear to spine and extremities, else in very good complete condition, tightly bound and clean. Additional images of the program available on request.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “BASIE, Count.”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *