In stock


Fairfield Hall, Croydon December 1967 concert flyer

Original first printing concert flyer advertising American jazz combo the Modern Jazz Quartet at the Fairfield Hall in Croydon [England] on Thursday, 14th December, 1967, presented by Harold Davison. Established in 1952, the Modern Jazz Quartet performed over a 40-year span with only one personnel change. For the majority of their career, the group was composed of John lewis (piano and musical director), Milt Jackson (vibraphone), Percy Heath (double bass) and Connie Kay (drums). Under Lewis’s leadership, they carved their own niche by specializing in elegant, restrained music that used sophisticated counterpoint, yet nonetheless retained a strong blues feel. Lewis firmly believed that J.S. Bach and the blues were compatible, combining classical form with jazz improvisation and polyphony. The band was also noted for its ability to play alongside a variety of other groups. Initially active into the 1970s until Jackson quit in 1974 due to creative disagreement and frustration with their busy touring schedule, the MJQ reformed intermittently into the 1990s.

The flyer measures 15.5 x 22.8 cm and is beautifully printed on thin, coated paper stock. Complete with the original postal booking form still intact. In excellent unfolded and unmarked condition. Feel free to email us with any questions you may have concerning this item. Additional images of the flyer available on request.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MODERN JAZZ QUARTET.”

Your email address will not be published.